Black Greek Organizations

Black sororities and fraternities are a second home to college students who identify as Black. Kappa Theta Epsilon and Sigma Pi Phi extend Greek life beyond the undergraduate level and serve members outside of a college affiliation. The organizations host activities for their members, campus, and community, including community service and cultural events. The collegiate organizations typically belong to a Multicultural Greek organization on their campus, where members can network and build friendships within their campus Greek life.

Black Sororities

Alpha Kappa Alpha (ΑΚΑ) - Founded on January 15, 1908, at Howard University.

Delta Sigma Theta (ΔΣΘ) - Founded on January 13, 1913, at Howard University.

Zeta Phi Beta (ΖΦΒ) - Founded January 16, 1920, at Howard University.

Sigma Gamma Rho (ΣΓΡ) - Founded November 12, 1922, at Butler University.

Iota Phi Lambda (ΙΦΛ) - Founded June 1, 1929,  in Chicago, Illinois.

Eta Phi Beta (ΗΦΒ) - Founded in October 1942, at Lewis Business College.

Tau Gamma Delta (ΤΓΔ) - Founded in 1942 at Lewis Business College.

Gamma Phi Delta (ΓΦΔ) - Founded on February 28, 1943, at Lewis Business College.

Zeta Delta Phi (ΖΔΦ) - Founded in 1962 Bronx Community College.

Kappa Theta Epsilon (ΚΘΕ) - Founded on February 24, 2009, in Houston, Texas.

Black Fraternities

Sigma Pi Phi (ΣΠΦ) - Founded on May 15, 1904, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Alpha Phi Alpha (ΑΦΑ) - Founded on December 4, 1906, at Cornell University.

Kappa Alpha Psi (ΚΑΨ) - Founded on January 5, 1911, at Indiana University Bloomington.

Omega Psi Phi (ΩΨΦ) - Founded on November 17, 1911, at Howard University.

Phi Beta Sigma (ΦΒΣ) - Founded on January 9, 1914 at Howard University.

Wine Psi Phi (ΩΨΦ) - Founded on March 2, 1959, at Howard University.

Nu Gamma Alpha (ΝΓΑ) - Founded in 1962 at Howard University.

Iota Phi Theta (ΙΦΘ) - Founded on September 19, 1963, at Morgan State University.

Phi Eta Psi (ΦΗΨ) - Founded on April 5, 1965, at Mott Community College.

Phi Delta Psi (ΦΔΨ) - Founded on March 21, 1977, at Western Michigan University.

Sigma Phi Rho (ΣΦΡ) - Founded on April 26, 1979, at Wagner College.

Delta Psi Chi (ΔΨΧ) - Founded on April 4, 1985, at University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.

Beta Phi Pi (ΒΦΠ) - Founded on April 6, 1986, at Western Illinois University.

Nu Gamma Psi (ΝΓΨ) - Founded on December 1, 2004, at Elizabeth City State University.

Phi Rho Eta (ΦΡΗ) - Founded on August 22, 1994, at Southern Illinois University.

List last updated in August 2023. Please contact us if you have updated information!

Back to blog